Replacement Car Title: Obtain Car Title with
M. Marin Insurance & Title Services
We can process your Title/Tag on the Same Work Day!
Out of State Titles and Tags are no problem!
We can process Out of State Titles in 3 days!
Title Services FAQs
You must apply for a registration and title in your name when you purchase a new motor vehicle, bring a motor vehicle into the state or at any time the ownership of the vehicle changes.
On the title, the seller should complete “Transfer of Title by Seller” section: name and address of the purchaser, the odometer information, selling price, and the date sold in the. The seller must then sign their name in the left column in the Seller section and handprint their name in the right column, same section. The purchaser should complete Purchaser section with signature and handprint their name. If there is a co-purchaser, they should follow the same instructions in the Co-Purchaser section.
The Buyer needs to bring title properly filled out with seller’s signature, purchaser’s signature, selling price and odometer reading. Both parties should be present to make sure the transfer is completed properly.
• Buyer needs to bring proof of Florida insurance and any current driver’s license
• Sales tax will be collected on selling price
• Bill of Sale
For out of State title transfers
• Vehicle must have a VIN verification and odometer verification completed
• Original out-of-state title clear of all liens
• Proof of Florida insurance
• Valid driver’s license
• A valid Florida physical address- A P.O. Box is not allowed
When applying for a title on a motor vehicle previously registered or titled in another state, the VIN on the actual motor vehicle must be verified to ensure that the vehicle is the same as the one documented on the proof of ownership.
The VIN must be physically inspected by one of the following:
• Any state law enforcement officer can complete the Florida Form HSMV 82042
• A licensed Florida or out of state motor vehicle dealer printed on their letterhead and notarized.
What documentation is required to apply for a duplicate title when the original has been lost or destroyed?
• Florida Form HSMV 82101
• Proof of identity (copy of Driver’s license, Identification card or Military identification)
• Lien satisfaction (if applicable) on Florida Form HSMV 82260 or on lien holder’s letterhead
• Old registration or copy of registration
Registrations issued in a person’s name expire at midnight on the person’s birth date. This does not include mobile homes or commercial vehicles.
You will need a copy of your current Florida Insurance card and Renewal notice from the state.
The exact expiration date is shown on the current registration certificate. Typically a late fee is applied on the 11th calendar day of the month following the renewal period.
You will need proper proof of Florida insurance and a copy of the current registration.
Proof of Insurance includes personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance which must be shown on the original or photocopy of one of the following:
• Florida automobile insurance ID card
• Certificate of insurance
• Florida insurance policy binder
• An original affidavit signed by the insured, giving the name of the insurance company, policy number, type of insurance coverage, and the vehicle description.
Florida statutes Section 320.06(1) (b) states that plates must be replaced every 10 years.
Yes. When insurance is cancelled and motor vehicle records indicate the vehicle is still owned by the same person and the license plate is still valid, the Bureau of Financial Responsibility, Division of Driver Licenses requires that the license plate be cancelled. The plate may be turned in to a driver license, tax collector office, or call “All Florida”.
It is Florida law. Florida insurance is REQUIRED to meet the requirements of Florida Statutes. We would be happy to discuss options for Florida insurance options.
Florida Statutes, Section 320.0605, requires the registration certificate or an official copy to be on the possession of the operator of the motor vehicle or carried in the vehicle at all times. Therefore, either way is permissible as long as a copy can be produced for law enforcement upon demand.
• Non-powered boats longer than sixteen feet
• Any motorized powerboat using public waters